To ensure a smooth transition from version 22 to version 23.10, you should back up and restore your system configuration. This way, your usual settings, profiles and printer definitions will be directly available in V23.10
In V23.10, you can transfer the system configuration to V23.10 as before using the backup and restore function (Menu Options > System Configuration). You can find out how to do this in this section.
Alternatively, you can transfer the system configuration using the Setup Assistant, which is available in V23.10. This contains an import function with which you can quickly and easily transfer the system configuration from version 22 to V23.10. You can find out how to use the import function in the Setup Assistant in this section.
For more general information on upgrading to version 23.10, please also see our FAQ article. Please also refer to our article on version upgrades with activated Access Control Module.
Requirements to backup and restore the system configuration
With a V23 license you can use V23.10 as well as the last builds from versions 10 to 22. You need at least the following builds to run older software versions with a V23 license:
The corresponding hotfix builds are available on the Service & Support area of our website under Download Area > Software. These versions can be installed side by side on the same system and run alternately without any problems.
When switching between multiple installations, the previously unused product must be started once with administrative rights. This applies to both hardware-based licenses with dongle and software-based licenses with activation code. For software-based licenses, the license must be revoked in the previously used version before switching to another version. (To do this, go to the Windows start menu and select Productionserver/Proofgate/Filmgate22 > Productionserver/Proofgate/Filmgate22 – Revoke License.)
If you are still using an older V22 build, you should first install the latest V22.10 build before upgrading. You will need build V22.10.14158 or higher to be able to use V22 with your V23 license. You can find a hotfix build in our Service & Support area under Download Area > Software > Version 22 > Productionserver/Filmgate/Proofgate 22 (login required).
How to backup and restore the system configuration via the backup and restore function
Tip: If you prefer a video tutorial to written instructions, you can also watch our YouTube video on how to transfer the system configuration via Options > System Configuration:
How to back up the system configuration via the Backup function
Follow the next steps to back up the system configuration via Options > System Configuration.
- Start the software, you want to create the backup from.
- Select Options > System Configuration > Backup… to open the Backup RIP Configuration dialog.
Backup program settings contains e.g. measuring device settings or the currently opened printers. The printer definitions contain e.g. the hotfolder settings. You can also save all jobs with the Include job files option. This allows you to reprint them without having to rip them again in V23.10. For profiles and linearizations, not only these files themselves are saved, but also the entire MIM combinations. The settings of the Access Control Module and the Cost Calculation Module can also be backed up. The Backup raster data option is only needed if you use Filmgate or the Film & Plate Module for Productionserver and use your own screen sets.
- In the Comment field you can add a description for the backup, so that you can later identify what the backup was created for and from which state it was created. Both the destination folder and the file name can of course be customized according to your own preferences.
- After clicking OK, a dialog box shows the size of the uncompressed data.
The larger the amount of data, the longer the backup process will take.
- After clicking Yes, the data is compressed and stored in a zip file to save disk space. With gigabyte-sized jobs in the archives, this may take more than 10 minutes.
- Once the backup is complete, the software will ask if and when to remind you about the next backup.
- The backup process is now complete. You can now import the backup of the system configuration into your V23.10 installation.
How to restore the system configuration via the Restore function
- Start V23.10 with administrative rights so that the required permissions are available during the import process.
- Select Options > System Configuration > Restore… to open the Restore RIP Configuration dialog.
- Click Open and select the previously created backup file from the old version there.
- Various information about the backup is now displayed, e.g. in which version it was created and which data it contains. The check boxes allow you to restore only certain data from the backup, if this is desired. Under Restore options you can set whether existing data should be overwritten. In addition, you can decide whether you want to import the backup into the current default paths or use new paths. The archive folders (respectively the jobs contained in them) will then be stored there.
Note: If the data folders from the INI are used, this may result in the folders for profiles, job archive and hotfolder from the previous version being used, for example. This can lead to conflicts if, for example, V22 and V23.10 are used alternately for a while, or if the V22 folder structure will be deleted. We recommend to use this option only when restoring a backup of the same version and not when updating to a new version.
- After you have clicked OK, another confirmation request appears and, if necessary, the files that are to be overwritten are displayed. During a version upgrade, usually everything can be overwritten.
- After the import restart the software. Once this is done, the imported data will be visible and you can continue working in V23.10 as you did in V22, although we recommend checking the hotfolder settings to learn for example about new options and possibilities of the new version.
If you are sure that you have transferred all the required data from the old version, you can uninstall V22. The data from the previous version will not be deleted when uninstalling. To free up disk space, the data must be deleted manually.
How to import the system configuration from V22 via the setup Assistant
If V23.10 or newer is started and no printer is open - for example after a new installation - a Setup Assistant will now open automatically.
If required, you can also call up the setup assistant manually at any time by clicking on Help > Setup assistant.... Via this assistant you can import the system configuration of a previous version into V23.10, without the need to manually back up and restore the system configuration.
Tip: If you prefer a video tutorial to written instructions, you can watch our video on YouTube:
Follow the next steps to import the system configuration from a previous version:
- Click Import the system configuration from a previous version. A dialog opens.
- Select the installed version to import from:
- Select under Options the type of data, that you want to import into V23.10. You can select Restore program settings and / or Restore jobs. The restoring of program settings makes sure you use the same settings as in your previous installation. If not selected, you keep your current settings. If you select Restore jobs, your job folder will be restored.
- Base path for job data: This is the path to store your job data. By default, it is the JobDir folder of your installation. Change this only if you want to store your job data in a special location (e.g. another hard drive).
- Click OK.
After the import you will get a confirmation that the selected data has been imported.
How to restore a previously backed up system configuration via the setup Assistant
If you have already backed up the system configuration of V22, you can restore it quickly and easily via the Setup Assistant of V23.10.
For this click Restore a previously backed up system configuration.... in the Setup assistant dialog and follow the steps described here.